Monday, April 15, 2024
HomeGlobalNawaz Sharif's party's spectacular victory in Pakistan Senate elections, know the condition...

Nawaz Sharif’s party’s spectacular victory in Pakistan Senate elections, know the condition of Imran’s party


The ruling coalition in Pakistan won a landslide victory in the Senate elections. After the elections for 48 vacant seats of the upper house of the bicameral Parliament, the results of 19 seats have been declared so far, out of which the ruling coalition has won 18. The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N)-led alliance has won 18 out of 19 seats while one independent candidate has been elected with its support. Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) and other parties are included in this alliance.

Read also

Voting was held for 12 seats in Sindh, five seats in Punjab and two seats in Islamabad Capital Region. In Punjab, PML-N won all five seats, while in Sindh, PPP was declared victorious on 10 seats and one seat went to Muttahida Qaumi Movement and one independent candidate. PML-N and PPP won one seat each in Islamabad.

18 candidates for the Senate have already been declared elected unopposed. Of these, 11 are from Balochistan and seven from Punjab. Elections in Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa province were postponed due to controversy regarding the oath of elected members on reserved seats.

Foreign Minister Ishaq Dar was elected member of the Senate with 224 votes of the National Assembly. His rival Raja Ansar Mahmood of the opposition Sunni Ittehad Council got 81 votes.

PPP’s Rana Mahmood Ul Hasan also won his seat by defeating Sunni Ittehad Council’s Farzand Hussain Shah. Thus, the ruling coalition captured both the Senate seats of Islamabad Capital Territory.

Major candidates who won the Senate elections include PML-N supported Finance Minister Muhammad Aurangzeb and Petroleum Minister Mussadiq Malik who got 128 and 121 votes respectively and both have reached the Upper House from Punjab.

PML-N’s Khalil Tahir Sindhu has been declared the winner from the minority seat in Punjab, while PPP’s Poonjo Bhil has been declared the winner from the minority seat in Sindh.

(Except the headline, this story has not been edited by the NDTV team and is published directly from a syndicated feed.)

Recent posts