Monday, April 15, 2024
HomeSportsLoeb Wins Stage Seven Ahead of Al-Attiyah; Sainz, third

Loeb Wins Stage Seven Ahead of Al-Attiyah; Sainz, third

The French Sebastien Loeb was imposed in the seventh stage of the Dakar, which started in Riyadh and ended in Al Dawadimi, with 5 minutes and 26 seconds advantage over the Qatari Nasser Al-Attiyah, leader of the general classification in cars, which makes him regain second position in the general classification.

The Spanish Carlos Sainz signed a great day since, due to the problems in one of its shock absorbers of the innovative Audi hybrid vehicle, it was relegated to the 29th starting position, from which he accused the dust of his predecessors.

Even so, he imposed a strong rhythm from the first moment, even reaching be the fastest in kilometer 121 of the 421 that the timed section (special) had this Sunday, but he left 3’20 “in the next 100 and he could no longer recover them; ending at 7’43 “from Loeb.

The Gallic pilot recovers the second place of the general, to the detriment of the Saudi Yazeed Al Rajhi, after proving again that he has rhythm; But Al-Attiyah is aware that what he has to do to achieve his fourth Dakar (winner in 2011, 2015 and 2019) is to mark him closely. He did so throughout the special and gave up 5’26 “, which leaves him with an advantage of 44’59” in the general classification with five stages to play, and the last one without great difficulties.

The Argentinian Lucio Alvarez and his co-driver, the Spanish Armand Monleon recovered the fourth position of the general since the South African Ginniel de Villiers he had problems in his vehicle at kilometer 198 that made him lose more than an hour. Although in their fight for the third box of the podium, they lost three minutes and 34 seconds to Al Rajhi.

For its part, Nani Rome, with no overall options after suffering a turnaround, he finished 15’50 “behind the winner and teammate Loeb.

Five first classified of the seventh stage:

1 – Sebastién Loeb (FRA-Bahrain Raid Xtreme): 3h9’32 “

2 – Nasser Al-Attiyah (CAT-Toyota): at 5’26 “

3 – Carlos Sainz (ESP-Audi): at 8’43 “

4 – Stéphane Peterhansel (FRA-Audi): at 9’40 “

5 – Yazeed Al Rajhi (SAU-Overdrive Toyota): 10’3 “.


Recent posts