Monday, April 15, 2024
HomeSportsGigantes del Basket magazine delivers its annual awards at a grand gala...

Gigantes del Basket magazine delivers its annual awards at a grand gala in Madrid

After the last two editions of the Giant Awards Gala adapted to the complicated circumstances derived from the pandemic (in 2021 with a mixed online and face-to-face formula at the WiZink Center and in 2022 still with limited audience capacity), the great party of the basketball Gs has returned. All levels of basketball gathered again to celebrate.

Quique Peinado and Elena Cascales were the masters of ceremonies at the 35th edition of the Gigantes Awards, which brought together a good number of protagonists and proper names in basketball. Present were José Manuel Franco, Secretary of State for Sport, José Luis Martínez Almeida, Mayor of Madrid and Alberto Tomé, Deputy Minister of Sports of the Community of Madrid.

From 2022 the capital EuroBasket will be recorded, the fourth under the command of Sergio Scariolo. But those 365 days went much further. The list of winners, from young promises to true basket legends, continues to grow: from those eight inaugural Gs in 1989, it has gone to 26 categories on this occasion.

Marcelinho Huertasrecently won his brand new second Intercontinental Cup won with Lenovo Tenerife, and mary countan emigrant in Prague, were the respective Giants of the Year 2022. The selector Sergio Scariolo, the Coach of the Year. In the longer term, we recognize Rudy Fernández as the Giant of the Decade. The only player present in the six men’s gold medals in Spain (4 EuroBaskets and 2 World Cups) in addition to three Olympic medals.

Alberto Díaz (Best Defender), Carles Durán (Best Endesa League Coach), Joel Parra and Blanca Millán (Best Progressions), Jasiel Rivero (Latin American), Lucas Langarita and Iyana Martín (Junior Giants) stand out in the field of Endesa national competitions . Collectively, the great moment of Lenovo Tenerife (men’s) and Casademont Zaragoza (women’s) were awarded, as well as the good work of Baskonia’s Sports Department.

Looking back, the career of players who have left a deep mark was also remembered. Laia Palau, with her prodigious longevity, marks the path for the new generations and Rafa Martínez, Fernando San Emeterio and Sitapha Savané have also written indelible passages in the history of our sport. In the international concert, they received the Gs myths as the Frenchman Tony Parker and the sharp shooter Jaycee Carroll.

This 2023 is fulfilled 30 years of Perugia’93 women’s EuroBasket gold and the anniversary was remembered as it deserves. Other winners were the historic referee Miguelo Betancor, the fans of Río Breogán, the Liga Endesa de Corazón and Basket Girlz projects. Finally, there was an In Memoriam remembrance to people who left us in 2022, which was especially emotional.

Recent posts